Weaponized Pee

Facebook reminded me that today (the date I wrote this post) marks the one year anniversary of when B, my (then) 3 year old daughter, began to use her pee as a weapon.

(If you can’t read the pic) Me on Facebook: Yall- B is trying to assert her power-she peed on the floor in front of the toilet on purpose… I asked her ‘why’ and she said, ‘because I wanted to-but I didn’t pee on you, mama!’ (Referring to yesterday when she purposefully peed on my foot) I’m so over this stage…

(The other post) Me on Facebook (4 days later): B is potty trained… but at night, she still wears a pull up. After putting her to bed tonight, (my husband) knew something wasn’t right…. this lil girl up and took off her diaper and proceeded to pee on her bed, stuffed animals and floor… she comes out of the room with her dry diaper in her hand, ‘Mama, I peed on my bed.’ Later when I asked her why: ‘Because I wanted to.’

It is clear that we have been going through a power struggle. B’s bodily functions are one of the few things that she knows we as her parents cannot control. We tell her when to wake up, when to go to bed, when she can watch her shows, that she has to go to school, what to eat… We correct inappropriate or disrespectful behavior, etc, etc, etc… One thing that we have been very conscious of doing is giving B choices to give her some sense of ownership over her decisions, but the choices we give her are two or three things we are okay with her choosing. When she pees on my foot, on the toilet lid, on her bed, stuffed animals, and carpet- she is in charge, she is in control and we have to react.

I am a social worker and educator who has been trained in ABA therapy, Social Emotional Learning, Cognitive Behavioral Therapy and so much more… and for the last year, I have cleaned up what felt like pools fulls of pee.

As 2020 continued to unfold, children started having less and less choice. B and I spent 7 months 24/7 together at home. We pulled her from Day Care a few weeks before the official close down in Michigan. I worked from home full time while watching and attempting to engage her in various activities. Right when we felt like Day Care had sufficiently adapted to the regulations, I had to go on medical leave. Getting Short Term Disability payments was turning out to be a looong process and we could not afford to send B to Day Care if I was not getting paid. I found myself barely able to leave my bed many days, barely able to open my eyes or walk in a straight line, but still having to be a mom and continue to engage in this power struggle.

In those 7 months, B saw one friend her age 4 times total. She couldn’t go to her favorite places and the few places she went, she had to wear a mask and not touch anything. We spent hours consoling her when she missed her grandparents and friends who lived just down the road. She would stare out her car window with tears flowing down her cheeks when we passed her favorite playgrounds that now had Caution Tape wrapped around them. Her whole world had changed and to her- “the virus” sucked, but we were the messengers of this bad news and often it seemed like “the virus” was just an extension of our power, our control. Her pee continued to flow to make her points whether we tried sticker charts, reward systems, extra positive attention, pee schedule, discipline and so much more. The combination of her age and stage, the COVID world, and her strong personality was the 2020 perfect storm.

The pandemic has warped time. It felt like 2020 lasted 5 years and yet the day I made those Facebook posts seems like only yesterday. B has since grown and changed- she has shown her resilience and we as a family have become stronger, but it has not been easy. Each of us has had our own struggles whether it is with family, children, health, jobs, finances, loss, so much more and a combination of all of them. And this tough time with the pandemic and all the political and cultural issues (not new, but exaggerated) is not over. We don’t know what 2021 has to hold for us. But…

Here is where I was gonna be all optimistic and tell us to keep on keeping’ on… and yes, do that- but I do think it’s valid to live each day, each second in the moment and allow experiences and feelings to come without judgement of good or bad. If 2020 (and the beginning of 2021) has taught me anything, it is that we are not promised tomorrow. It’s up to me to do more things that make me happy and to find happiness in the things I do! (Although I do hope the weaponized pee is finally a thing of the past- if I’m being 100 😉 )

Hope and calm, Kelz

Published by blackmommawhitemomma

2 mommas trying to navigate it all!

15 thoughts on “Weaponized Pee

  1. We’ve had a range of emotions here about the pandemic. I have twins who are almost 10 and over the summer we completely rearranged our house so they could have their own rooms. With school they have always been able to share a room having spent the whole day apart in two different classes but now that they school at home the younger of the two was like mom enough I want some space away from him. It’s cute though months later, hopes often I find them having crept into each other’s room for a sleep over. My almost 3ys old has struggled greatly. She became a big sister December of 2019 so she was in for a change not having mom to herself but then April 2020 rolled around and my husband started working from home and our older boys were schooling from home and she was like get all these people out of here! Along with that her weekly dates with daddy at the library ended and Friday shopping with mom ended. She spent a solid three months crying that she just wanted to “see the people” she didn’t care who just anyone, anywhere. So we couldn’t go to the playground it we could go to the dog park(we don’t own a dog) but she could run up and down the fence with the dog on the other side and see their owners socially distanced behind the fence. Once august rolled around and it was evident school was going to be a nightmare of uncertainty we made the decision to homeschool instead of elearning for the older boys and with that decided to form a coop with three other families. Each of our families had one working spouse and one at home with 4 kids all about the same ages. We rotated meeting in each others back yards or state parks to play in the woods with socially distances grown ups and kids running wild and free. I don’t know what we would have done without this connection. Over the course of this time both of our boys struggled with missing friends from school and at the same time were learning how to grieve with others. Each of their best friends from school lost grandparents to Covid and even our coop was not safe from grieving as one family gave birth to a sleeping baby in October. In December my parent’s house got hit with Covid. Two of my brothers live with my parents and they all had it one right after another. That’s when the real trauma of this pandemic rolled in for us. For a month all we talked about was how everyone was feeling and what they were taking and what we could do to help them feel better. My room became a hostle with all four kids ending up in there each night. We spent our days trying to distract ourselves by blessing others. Dropping care packages and little gift bags to friends and family’s porches and over all I think we have been resilient but I will say, now here we are a month later and my almost 3 year old still asks multiple times a day how memaw is feeling and we have to video call her and have her confirm she is well. I just wonder how long this will plague her mind, the worry of if the ones she loves are well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing all of this! Wow!!! Each kid at each different age had their own different adjustments to make! Glad you had some families to meet with outdoors- have you continued that in the winter? I love the care packages- we did wine porch exchanges with my gym friends! And video calls have become a daily thing! So much has changed to have safe ways to connect with others!

      Like

      1. Winter has been hard we just haven’t felt ready for in home gathering and we’re a bunch of wimps that don’t like being cold lol. A few have joined a gymnastics studio to still get together once a week but that’s just not in my budget right now.

        Like

  2. Okay I just finished reading. I love the post! There’s so many changed behavior in most of the children I work with. Especially the younger ones in Pre K. Some had a hard time adapting back to the structure and some became more sensitive. Since Covid been semi the new norm it’s easier now. I think the children understand it more now than they did before. They were at an age where they didn’t really know the depths of it but as time moved and were living in a Covid world they’re more comfortable now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for this perspective…. I agree, that whole ‘new norm’ is somewhat true with the lil ones- I am not having so many issues with having her wear masks… she talks about ‘the virus’ like it’s always been here and always will be- hopefully that’s not the case… but they surely are building resilience! Kelz

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started